The Great Margration

Stories of my life on the road.

Bocas del Torro October 11, 2010

Filed under: Out — margysaur @ 2:45 pm

Hola amigos. I’m currently languishing in the heat of an idyllic and touristy little town off the coast of north Caribbean Panama. My weather widget says high of 30, low of 23. I don’t know what that means either, but with the associated humidity I believe we’re hovering somewhere around 120. Despite this unfortunate circumstance, I am sort of in love with this place. The ocean is visible from almost anywhere in town, and there are multiple bar parties every night with “drink specials” that usually just translate to free drinks if you are a girl. No complaints there. While I’ve been trying to take advantage of this luxury as often as possible, classes sometimes get in the way. I’ve been continuing to take 4 hours per day of Spanish, which has been pretty great. I love all my teachers here, more so than in Turrialba. Also, since the surfing was apparently non-existent last week, I decided to get a PADI open water certification. The prices for doing that around here are almost unbeatable. Good news! I’ve fallen in love with yet another expensive leisure activity. I passed my final dive test yesterday, and am already planning to squeeze in the advanced open water certification before I leave next weekend.
Diving is ridiculously fantastic. One thing I love is that it has nearly eliminated an excessive fear of getting water in my nose, from which I’ve suffered since a swimming pool incident at age 5. Part of the class involves losing your mask and regulator (breathing apparatus) while in open water, then recovering them. The first time I did it, I was certain I would die – from panic if not drowning – but by the second time it was no big deal. Psychological hurdles aside, being deep underwater is one of the most peaceful, beautiful experiences I’ve had. My instructor told me about swimming with whale sharks in Honduras, immediately after which I will die a happy, fulfilled person. Don’t worry, though, I don’t think they’re in season until January or February. Oh! And yesterday when we came back to the boat after a dive we found ourselves in the middle of a humongous herd of what I think were sardines – many hundreds of them – leaping simultaneously from the water like miniature dolphins.
My new friends here are quite nice. I find myself once again surrounded by Germans, Swiss (German-speaking), and Dutch folks. They are usually nice enough to speak in English, although I can’t blame them for reverting often. Instead I curse my parents for not making me learn German when I had the chance. Alas.
All for now. Hasta luego!

 

One Response to “Bocas del Torro”

  1. pooter Says:

    Nice! I have wanted to learn to SCUBA sine my QA manager told me about some great trip he has been on in the PNW. So glad to hear you have over come your fear of getting water up your nose. I have a similar fear, probably learned from your behavior. Maybe one of these days I will learn from your new behavior and get the heck outta Dodge. There are rumors around my work that I might get to go to Japan. Here’s to hoping.


Leave a Reply

